It's been a while since I thought of making tacos--but they are so good! And doesn't Taco Night always feel like a party?
Anyway, one of the bummers of our manufactured food world is the presence of gluten hidden in items that have nothing to do with bread or flour. One of these things is meat seasoning. What in the world does meat need gluten for?
I guess the answer to that is with the manufacturers. So maybe we should ask them?
Anyway, enough Celiac-tivism for now. Onto food.
Unfortunately, most of your run-of-the-mill Taco Meat Seasoning packets contain gluten--in it's nefarious "Modified Food Starch" form. So, we have to dig a little deeper, search a little farther. Wendy, on her Gluten Free Greenie blog talks about trying her hand at a Celiac Family Blog recipe for chicken. That one calls for McCormick brand Taco Seasoning.
But I wanted to tell you all that I found another brand of Taco Seasoning that does not contain gluten ingredients--it's Wick Fowler's Famous Taco Seasoning Mix!
The ingredients: Ground Chili Peppers, Salt, Onion, Comino, Garlic, Oregano.
It was .79 at Fresh Market here in Raleigh.
Grab a pack of taco shells, shredded lettuce, a tomato, and a little shredded cheese, and you've got a Happy, Gluten Free Taco Night! Sure beats trying to ask the Spanish-speaking waitstaff at the Mexican restaurant if their items are gluten free!